Home » All » Friday Fictioneers

Friday Fictioneers

2.26 fridayfictioneers

It’s time for Friday Fictioneers. I have not participated in this fun writing exercise for many months, but I hope to start the habit again. A lovely blogger named Rochelle is the creative genius behind it. If you click on the link, you can read the rules about participation. The above photo is the inspiration for the 100 word story of the week.

A Long, Long Time Ago

Jacques  sat next to his grandson, trying to pry his attention from the action on the small screen. “Orphe,  look at this.” Jacques said pointing to the page. The tween glanced over, “What’s that?” “A wagon pulling hay.” The child stared at him. “This was from my vacation to the country years ago. A lot of farms. ” “Farm?” “A farm was a place where people used to grow food.” “Food?” Alan sighed, “People used to eat food everyday to nourish their bodies. That was before the decades of droughts .”  “Oh. Can I have my pill now?” “Yes. You can eat.”

wordcount: 100

28 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers

  1. Very sinister. Would we let that happen? Nice take on the prompt. Loved your illustration of Germany. We used to live in the gardening area, probably around the last ‘g’. 🙂

    • I am not always sinister, but I find with the Friday Fictioneers if I spend too much time trying to think about the photo prompt I won’t get the writing done for it, nor any other writing.
      As for the picture, it took me a while to figure out how I would connect my blog title with my blog contents. I unfortunately am not disciplined enough to write equally for all of the parts.It depends on life happenings at the moment. How long were you in Germany? I visited for about a month and got around to many places.

  2. Good story and well done. I’m hoping man will continue to think outside the box and come up with answers to food shortage. I’ve read about roof-top gardening, etc.

  3. A plausible glimpse into the future, perhaps? I hope not, but it’s a conversation I wouldn’t be surprised to hear of. Nice work!

Comments are closed.