Home » Writing/Fiction Friday » NaNoWriMo, Wait for Me……! I Signed Up to Write a Novel

NaNoWriMo, Wait for Me……! I Signed Up to Write a Novel

Today is the first day of NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month.) For those of you who just woke up and have some spare time to read, click on the link. For those who don’t, here is a brief explanation. NaNoWriMo  is writing a novel in one month. To go off on a tangent with me start reading the purple text. To prevent yourself from losing interest, skip over the purple text and look for black type. My tangent: The month of November to be exact. Why would anyone pick this month? It is the month of Thanksgiving, which does not last more than one day in my family. It usually involves travel to visit family, not sit around and write. Plus the month of November means several days off from school for my kids, which equals little or no writing gets done. Oh, and all of those weekends too.The word count minimum is 50,000 words. As usual I waited until almost the very last-minute to sign up. And as usual, I am already behind.

Do you want to hear my excuse? It’s a good one. My kids had their first of many November days off from school. And last night was Halloween. Add it up and it means no schedule for the day. I spent the morning washing out black spray hair color and makeup from the mini Frida Kahlo running around the house. Then I had to scrub the bathtub, because it was an artificial shade of gray due to the hair color. Then I dropped  off mini Frida to a birthday party, threw in a load of laundry and took the other child out to lunch. I won’t bore you with the rest of the details, but if you can imagine what it is like with no routine, then you’ll understand when I say that the only writing that occurred today had nothing to do with  NaNoWriMo. It was the note I wrote to myself to check the furnace filters, which I failed to do.

Does it count that I tried to flesh out some NaNoWriMo ideas in the shower? At least I put forth .002% effort toward my (cough) novel.

I wanted to take a pass on NaNoWriMo this year. I have read it is a grueling experience to undergo this 30 day marathon. But then I asked myself, “What do you have to lose?” My answer of “Nothing” wasn’t significant enough to cause me to change my mind. Wish me luck! Every day. I mean it. I’m going to need it. Maybe I’ll let you help me write my 50K since I am already behind the expected 1,667 words per day required to achieve this goal.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo, Wait for Me……! I Signed Up to Write a Novel

  1. Pingback: 3 Tips and a Word Count | going to germany

Comments are closed.