Home » All » The Pub: Friday Fictioneers

The Pub: Friday Fictioneers

Copyright-Ted Strutz

Copyright-Ted Strutz

“It’s not that it’s comforting, except that it is,”  Beth explained to the man sitting across the worn table from her. Her gaze flickered to the wall, searching among the dark wood and glass bottles for something more to explain why she always came back to this place. They  seemed just as haphazard as she was. Beth knew she could change things but she didn’t know where to start. But isn’t more supposed to be better?

“So, Betty,” he winked.

Beth stared at the colorful picture of a life she could never understand, then smiled and reached across the table.

I decided to take part in a photo prompt Flash Fiction called Friday Fictioneers. I heard about it from a blog I read: http://elappleby.wordpress.com. It comes from another blogger: http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

Enjoy!

13 thoughts on “The Pub: Friday Fictioneers

  1. I really enjoyed your character’s introspection. You really gave a glimpse into her soul, and tied it analogously into the setting well. Just so you know, you could have cut out “from her” and freed up a couple words.

    • Thanks for the feedback. I think I need to take advantage of all of the prompts out there in internetland. While my blog is fun, this is the type of writing that I really enjoy.

  2. Very nice! I get the feeling that he’s going to draw her out of her isolation.

    Is this your first Fictioneers story? (I’m asking because you mention that you decided to take part, which sounds to me like it’s a new experience – not as a slap at your story 😉 ) Anyway, if you’re a newcomer, welcome!

  3. I like this line, “They seemed just as haphazard as she was.” It sounds as though this is the key to why she likes it there so much and is comforted by it.

    janet

    • Thanks, Janet! It’s amazing what you can do with your words when a 100 word limit is imposed. It definitely challenged me to get to the meat of the character and the photo that inspired it.

  4. Quite a good thing. These venues have So many exciting stories. I like to imagine all the possibilities. Wonderful story!

    Kent

  5. Dear Amy,
    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. In case no one’s warned you it’s a bit addictive. I started a year ago April and by October I’d inherited the whole shebang. Nice story. I look forward to reading more of your work.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    • Thanks Rochelle! I am excited. I know I won’t respond to every single one of them, but I have to start somewhere to get back into my writing and push myself beyond my slice of life blog.

  6. Pingback: Fairy Castles – Friday Fictioneers | Chronicles of a Homosexual Hobbit

  7. Nice to see you have found the Friday Fictioneers, I have been posting them on my blog for some time – new to the genre of Flash.
    I enjoyed this story and the way you leave certain avenues open in the reader’s mind. (Or mine at least!)

Comments are closed.