Home » All » The Unexpected Benefits of Talking to Your Neighbors

The Unexpected Benefits of Talking to Your Neighbors

One of my new hostas

Some of my new hostas

There is a woman who lives across the street from me. Her front yard always has decorations for almost every holiday. When the weather warms up, she puts her efforts towards decorating with plants and flowers. Her flower baskets are gorgeous  – full of color, big blooms, long-lasting. I guess you can say I’ve watched her for the past three years, gathering ideas (for my flower gardens, not holiday decorations.) We have spoken occasionally.

It occurred to me that she has a bit of experience with all things green and since other gardeners were unable to answer my question about something growing in my backyard, I decided to ask her. It turns out I have wild onions growing in my backyard. This question turned into a twenty-minute conversation on plants and landscaping. Then, she mentioned she has tried to thin out her hostas, but couldn’t find anyone to take them. I all but jumped at the offer. The very next day they were waiting in a bucket for me. I planted them right away and already they are making themselves at home in their new backyard. I have a feeling I’ll be talking to her a lot more this summer.

3 thoughts on “The Unexpected Benefits of Talking to Your Neighbors

    • Yes they are, especially when they are free. I can’t wait to see how big they will grow because I never had the opportunity to see them growing in my neighbors’ yard.

  1. Pingback: Peace | going to germany

Comments are closed.