Home » All » RunStreak for Boston

RunStreak for Boston

I usually don’t blog about major events like these. I guess I spend my time thinking about and processing them while someone else writes about them first . I like the angle Sue writes from.Enjoy.

Outside the Comfort Zone

Confession: I once was a streaker.

A RunStreaker, that is. I ran every day for 425 days in 2011-2012.

I started the RunStreak because at the time, running had started to feel like a chore. I’d lost the joy of it. Oddly, by forcing myself to run every day, I fell in love with running again. The routine, the consistency made running what it should be: a non-negotiable part of life, like breathing or eating.

However, my RunStreak came to an abrupt end on October 8th, the day after the 2012 Chicago Marathon. I could barely get out of bed. Walking was challenging enough. Running was out of the question. The RunStreak was dead, but I had hope that it would get resurrected.

After missing qualifying for Boston at Chicago, I decided to do the California International Marathon in December, to try again for my BQ time…

View original post 644 more words

