Home » All »

This post made me stop and think about my writing. I have started posting on my blog more regularly, but for some reason I haven’t made the time to pick up some of the many unfinished pieces I have started or done much with the ideas wafting around in my head. I’m not sure why I am resistant. Fear of finding the voices that keep speaking to me and really listening to them? Maybe. I think I am going to make a coffee date with those voices in my head (I’m starting to sound I’m Sybil!) very soon and let them speak.

Live to Write - Write to Live

voice water

A writer’s voice is that often intangible yet unmistakable something that defines the author’s work. Like literary DNA, it is as unique and complex as a fingerprint. Syntax, diction, dialog, and punctuation are combined with characterization techniques, scene delivery, and other stylistic elements and then distilled into an elixir that lets us see the world through the writer’s eyes.

But there is more to it than that.

The way a writer uses words to shape a story is only the tip of the iceberg. The true essence of a writer’s voice lies far beneath the surface. It is less craft and more courage – less ink and more blood. The text on the page is nothing more than the corporeal manifestation of the very spirit that drives the writer to write. The true voice of a writer is the nameless fire that burns inside, turning up the heat, licking at…

View original post 448 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. So good that you are going to make a coffee date with the voices in your head! 🙂
    I hope that goes well.

    Thanks for sharing my post.

Comments are closed.