Home » All » I am The Producer. Who are You?

I am The Producer. Who are You?

TIME FLIES.....................*

TIME FLIES…………………* (Photo credit: Neal.)

My earliest memory of being late was in fourth grade. I couldn’t find my other shoe, or my homework and I still had not brushed by hair. My Mom was ready to walk out the door and I wasn’t. She knew this would make her late for work and I knew it too because she gave me an earful as I stumbled around trying to hurry, trying to prevent the unavoidable. Can you believe I still carry this memory around with me years and years later?

I stumbled upon this article while I was on my way to check e-mail. Checking my e-mail was one of the many things on my “to-do” list. Reading the article was not. It caught my eye because  I am always late. . This article was about being late and included seven categories of the type of  late person you are. I felt compelled to read it because maybe I could still change and rid myself of this bad habit that annoys me at times.  According to the article, I am  The Producer:

The Producer needs to get as much done in as little time as possible. She feels better about herself when she’s checking things off a massive to-do list. Producers tend to engage in “magical thinking,” consistently underestimating the amount of time their tasks will take. They hate wasting time, so they schedule themselves to make use of every minute of the day.

Other categories of late people include: The Deadliner, The Absent Minded Professor, The RationalizerThe IndulgerThe Evader, and The Rebel.

I enjoyed this article because it gave me things I could try to do to help myself overcome this bad habit while not feeling so guilty. I was wondering how practical it would be to keep a record of how long real tasks take. I think I can make it happen if I add it to my “to-do” list.

Are you always late? What kind of late person are you?

One thought on “I am The Producer. Who are You?

  1. The link to the article wouldn’t open, but when I am late it’s because I am distracted. It’s kind of like trying to shove too many things into the moments before I leave. Also, I am an air sign in a household of earth signs, so I sometimes don’t have the instinct to get everyone moving early enough for people who are so rooted. 🙂

Comments are closed.