Home » Humor » Fourteen Reasons to Boycott Valentine’s Day (Or Maybe Just Tone it Down a Bit)

Fourteen Reasons to Boycott Valentine’s Day (Or Maybe Just Tone it Down a Bit)

A simple picture my son drew then photocopied to give to his classmates.

A simple picture my son drew then photocopied to give to his classmates.

As you can tell by the title of this post, I’m not a big fan of Valentine’s Day. Here are some of the reasons why:

1. What about all those other days of the year? How many of those days are actually significant to people for real reasons? To list a few: birthdays, wedding anniversaries, graduations, the date you got your first job, rented your own apartment, the day you quit the job you loathed, the day you learned how to play the guitar, ski, cook a meal without burning it. I could go on, but I know you get the point.

2. The hype (but not as long as Christmas). People are not even done celebrating Christmas, New Years, Hanukkah, Three Kings, etc and the stores are filled with red white and pink. This brings me to my next reason…

3. The colors: red, white and pink are everywhere. Well, almost. I haven’t seen pink beer yet.

4. Messages are everywhere in every store window to buy (sound familiar?) You name it and the store is selling it: decorations, cooking utensils, clothing ( for adults, children and pets), decorations, baskets, stuffed animals, decorations, picture frames, hand towels, decorations, candy, cards, straws and did I mention decorations?

5. And speaking of decorations, some people have to decorate the outside (and I’m sure the inside) of their house. I saw a neighbor put hers up on January 7th.

6. There are millions of  songs about love. Who wants to listen to them all day, or the days leading up to Valentine’s Day? I enjoy many songs about love, but come on people, practice some moderation.

7. People feel obligated to  express their love in ways they are not comfortable with. (Like maybe saying I Love You when they are not ready to)

8. Cheap stuff. Valentine’s Day is another reason for stores to sell cheap stuff and for people to buy it. Seriously, how many fake rose bouquets and stuffed bears holding a heart pillow does the average person need? Do not answer the stuffed animal question for a child. They always need more stuffed animals than they have, contrary to what we tell them.

9. Hearts. Yea, yea, yea, the heart is the symbol of love, but does it have to be everywhere and on everything?

10. Jewelry  If you are buying jewelry for a female, does it have to be a heart? I think it will still say you care if it is a butterfly or a free form shape.

11. Does it have to be diamond jewelry? If not, then obviously the person you are buying it for is not worth it (obviously NOT my opinion, but it’s the message sent from everywhere, especially the jewelry stores!)

12. Store bought cards. I’d take a homemade one from my kids with original drawings and messages any day. Would you?

13. Chocolate. It almost didn’t make my list, but it is everywhere. My teeth and I would rather have good chocolate once a week then endless cheap garbage that comes home from school to commemorate the occasion.

14. It becomes another way in which people try to one-up each other. I don’t mean this in a bad way and I’m sure people are not intentional about it, but especially with access to content on the web and social media it becomes a report of what people did or planned to do to make it such a “special day” (gag). Open a magazine, look at blogs and it is everywhere from how to make the perfect breakfast, lunch, dinner, romantic evening, blah, blah , blah.

So readers, are you going all out or are you going to treat it like another day on the calendar. I’d LOVE to hear your thoughts.

7 thoughts on “Fourteen Reasons to Boycott Valentine’s Day (Or Maybe Just Tone it Down a Bit)

  1. Good job on the list. I hope your neighbor’s decorations are blown away in a windstorm…seriously putting them up on January 7? I still have my Christmas Tree up for Pete’s sake!

    I want to kill Valentine’s Day but I’ve decided to make it an important life lesson for my children instead. When you have the time (ha. ha. Free time…what’s that?) stop on by my blog.

    Again, thanks for the good laugh!
    http://khellriegel.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/teaching-kids-about-disappointment-and-adversity-what-valentines-day-is-all-about/

      • LOL. I love the leprechauns….
        My wife and I have codes for people with decorations up for too long. Things like 1225 Violation meaning someone’s Christmas lights are still on the house, 1031 for Halloween, etc. It keeps us sane and we can pretend our kids don’t know we are making fun of others…ah, the simple things in life!

  2. OMG, I have plenty of horrible Valentine’s Day stories to tell. It is a notoriously horrible time of year for me, and bad mojo goes outside of the context of romance. I pretty much want to go to bed on February 9th and wake up on February 17th every year.

  3. Pingback: Because Valentine’s Day Isn’t Over Yet……. « going to germany

  4. Here is another reason: re-marry your ex-husband on a Caribbean Island and then come home and go your separate ways — on Valentines day. So my take is that this is about acceptance and the Universe is giving me tons of practice material for acceptance. Love BJ

Comments are closed.