Home » All » A Gift, Not a Resolution

A Gift, Not a Resolution

Box with gift

Box with gift (Photo credit: Robo Android)

It’s a new year. I am looking forward to  2013. If you read my last post, you know our household doesn’t give gifts until January after New Years. I started thinking about  the many people who are in the habit of making resolutions. Maybe you are the type to sit down and compose a list of things you want to change. Some of the most popular resolutions include: losing weight, starting a new habit (eat healthy, exercise) or stopping a bad habit (smoking, eating junk food). I used to make resolutions like that, except my list was really long, detailed and overwhelming, not to mention unrealistic. Some items did not even belong on my list. I stopped making resolutions years ago because I felt I never accomplished anything. It was too much work.

Last November I was at the gym and I ran into someone I hadn’t seen in a while. I commented on her svelte figure and she mentioned she had changed her exercise routine. I lamented that I probably needed to do the same but I was having a hard time finding the time to exercise. Then she said something that has stuck with me since. She said instead of treating exercise like a chore, or something to check off from her to do list, she gives the gift of exercise to herself. I resumed my sit ups, but the thought of exercise being a gift kept returning to my thoughts.

Usually when I think of a gift, I think about an object. I asked myself if I too could give myself the gift of exercise. Why not?

As the holidays approached, I decided that I would give myself a few “gifts”  this year. They would not be tangible. My thought was that if I chose to look at exercise through a different lens, with a different thought perspective,  then perhaps I might view  exercise differently.  Wouldn’t it be nice to think I’m lifting weights to keep my bones strong instead of thinking I would rather be reading? If I viewed this as a gift and not a chore, would I appreciate it more?

I don’t know the answer to that question yet. I’ll have to give it some time and see what happens. I gave myself a few other gifts besides exercise. I’ll fill you in soon enough.

What gift would you give yourself?

3 thoughts on “A Gift, Not a Resolution

  1. My gift — pushing past the fear. So many of my best ideas are left undone because I don’t have the courage to take chances on them.

    BTW, great idea about exercise as a gift. Need to try that myself.

  2. Pingback: A Gift, Not a Resolution: Part 2 | goingtogermany

Comments are closed.