Home » All » My Backyard

My Backyard

One of our Blueberry bushes in the backyard.

I know I said a few months ago that I was going to get back to blogging regularly. Rather than bore you with the reasons for my interruptions, I’ve decided to adopt the philosophy of one of Tom Petty’s songs. He sings:

“It’s time to move on, it’s time to get going, what lies ahead I have no way of knowing. Under my feet, the grass is growing, it’s time to move on, it’s time to get going.”

So, speaking of grass and nature, I have been busy outdoors a bit. Specifically in my backyard. When we moved into our house almost two years ago, we knew the yard needed a lot. We had a large, grassy space, a gravel parking pad and a swatch of bright orange day lily’s to work with. We took it easy the first summer and did nothing but acquire a lawn mower and water the grass. Last year we decided to do away with the gravel parking pad and start to strategically plan where we would like to plant living things. We didn’t get very far, only buying annuals for pots and a few fruit bushes.

As this third summer began, I was thrilled to discover fruit ripening on our blueberry plants. I think those fruit bushes are saying they are very happy because this year we have harvested four cups of blueberries from this plant alone.

I can’t wait for the rest of the summer to unfold. Stay tuned for more updates from my backyard.

4 thoughts on “My Backyard

  1. Great to see you blogging again! And now I know another person who might be able to take perennials when ours need to be thinned. It doesn’t take long for things to start happening in the yard, as you are seeing!

  2. Pingback: More Berries | goingtogermany

  3. Pingback: Adventures of a First Time Gardener | goingtogermany

Comments are closed.