Home » All » Making Time for Reflections

Making Time for Reflections

Metal Mirrors

Image via Wikipedia

Like everyone else, I tend to get caught up in the drama of every day life. Trying to achieve  balance between family, home, work, writing and the never-ending To Do list sometimes leaves me feeling that I am incompetent.

While cleaning the bathroom mirror this morning I started in on my typical inner monologue of what needs to happen over the next few days. It is often during mundane and recurring things like folding laundry, making beds or emptying the dishwasher (when I don’t have to  place a lot of mental focus on what I am doing) that I can retreat to my brain and think.  Only this time for some reason I turned my thoughts to thinking about my life right in that very moment. I began to tick off a list of things I was thankful for; both personally, professionally and for my family. Surprisingly, one good thought led to another and another and another. Instead of feeling a bit overwhelmed about what I needed to plan for and accomplish, I felt calm and ready to organize myself in a positive direction.

Life is a bit overwhelming at times. There are circumstances when being tough on ourselves is necessary, but don’t forget to stop and make time for reflections. I think you will see  your life from a new perspective.

2 thoughts on “Making Time for Reflections

Comments are closed.