Home » All » Yes, I Am a Serious Book Reader

Yes, I Am a Serious Book Reader

My Filled to the Max (on both sides!) Bookshelf

Last Fall,  I stumbled upon the site Goodreads.  The site  indicated it would give recommendations of books I might enjoy reading based on books I had already read. I was in a book rut, so I spent many hours clicking on all the books I have read, not understanding they became part of my bookshelf (which made them available for others to view). It wasn’t until  later (as in many months) when I realized  of the 159 or so books I had indicated reading that eighty-seven (yes, 87!) were children’s books. For all you math folks out there, 54% of my rated books were children’s books. I thought to myself, “How Pathetic!” Then I thought, “Maybe I should start a blog reviewing children’s books, since I have read soooooooooooooooooo many.” Hmm, I will have to think about that (another day of course).

I realized I have spent the last 9 1/2 years raising children and many years before that teaching children, and that probably accounts for the sheer number of children’s books I have read (what parent hasn’t read Brown Bear, Brown Bear or If You Give a Pig a Pancake? But have you read Lyle’s Birthday, Sylvester and The Magic Pebble or Chrysanthemum? (Okay, it sounds like I am still thinking about a children’s book blog…) But come on, 87  kids books! I absolutely love books and I read a lot  (or so I thought).

How much do I love reading books? Here are a few examples of my complete adoration of literary bound pages :1) I turn into a grouch when I don’t have time to read. 2)I stay up way too late if a book is so well written it leaves me completely enthralled. 3) On a _____ day, (substitute sunny, rainy, snowy, cloudy, etc. You get the picture) I would rather be reading. 4)My nightstand seems bare if there are fewer than 3 books on it at a time. 5) I feel thrilled when I receive books for my birthday, Christmas, Los Reyes Magos, etc. So there you have it, I am a bibliophile, a bookworm, a lover of the written word in short story or novel format.

I have followed a blog called 101 Books  to get ideas on what books I should read that I somehow missed out on. There are a ton of old favorites, like The Time Travelers Wife, which I just got around to reading last Fall. I think I missed it because I was either pregnant and reading those types of books, or had just had my first baby and was reading those types of books.  Either way, you get that I was not reading anything literary. So now I guess I need to play catch up.

It’s a new year with new possibilities. So far, my list includes:

Running With Scissors

Like Water For Chocolate

Runaway

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

When She Woke

A Prayer for Owen Meany

Never Let Me Go

White Oleander

The Book Thief

What else  should I  include in my next batch of must reads??

I am interested in hearing your thoughts.

7 thoughts on “Yes, I Am a Serious Book Reader

  1. The Book Thief was awesome. I absolutely loved that book! If you like Jane Austen, add Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand to your list. It was very entertaining and Austen-esque.

  2. Thanks! I have been meaning to read something by Jane Austen but I am afraid I will have to leave it for summer. I am getting back into my story and need to read books that are possible a bit more current and relevant. BTW, I read the other day that some consider the book thief a possible YA book. What do you think? Or is it geared more to an adult audience?

  3. White Oleander, so good! I have The Book Theif for you and Running With Sissors. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is on my shelf, waiting for me. Maybe we should form a two person book club for that read!

Comments are closed.