Home » All » On the Fly

On the Fly

In all of my years of traveling, rarely have I been early to the airport. I typically cause everyone to be late, no matter how much I try to prepare in advance. I wait too long to get the clothes ready. I think I have enough time to wash all the laundry and clean the house the day before. I put my kids to bed later than I had planned. I need to go to the store for some travel item at the last-minute. And each time we arrive at the airport in the nick of time, I get the look from my husband that means, Why can’t you get your act together? I hang my head and vow that the next trip  I will be prepared. But some things never seem to change, no matter how much I want them to.

By some act of God, or luck or possibly I have finally learned my lesson, our most recent flight found us at the airport EARLY and with way too much time on our hands. What to do? What to do?

There is a little area at O’Hare airport called “Kids On The Fly”. It is a place where children can pretend  in the control tower, load cargo, or fly on an airplane. We had always intended to take advantage of visiting once we had children. We never had been able to, (because I was always making us late) until now.

At first the kids were excited to explore and investigate. They played in the control tower, passed through security and ran around.The excitement wore off sooner than a hangover  and the 6-year-old even proclaimed, “This is for babies. It’s boring.”

Alas, our preparedness didn’t pay off in the way we thought. The kids are too old to visit the play area. But that’s okay. The important thing to remember is that now I know we can get to the airport in time to spare. I sure hope this is a new habit I have started.

One thought on “On the Fly

Comments are closed.