Home » All » Why I Don’t Read These Magazines Anymore

Why I Don’t Read These Magazines Anymore

Yes, I am back at the gym. As with everything (in my life at least), it takes me time to adjust to new situations. While at the gym, I needed something to distract myself from the drivel of television (because if you read my post Changes, you’d know all about the lack of quality programming) since I am not that focused on the task at hand (er, exercise?) as of yet. I borrowed a magazine that someone had left at the gym.  Then I proceeded to steal, I mean borrow it when I had completed my exercise time.

I fully intend to return it when I return tomorrow. I was searching for articles or exercise moves to inspire me, because when you haven’t moved your body in a while, it takes more than waking up at 6 a.m. to do it.  I don’t know why I was sucked  in by the pitches on the front promising me this and that. It reminded me of movie promos.Sometimes they show you all the good stuff up front. Then when you see (or in my case read) the real thing, you end up being disappointed.

One page gave a brief summary of 5 books you can buy that will help you lose weight, depending on your  eating and exercise habits. NONE of them sounded appetizing. All of them lacked nutritional balance and required you to abstain from certain types of foods. One even limited your food consumption to 6 items, 4 times a day for 7 – 10 days to achieve the desired weight loss results. Why are these books even published?  They give readers a false sense of hope. What ever happened to moderation? Who buys these books? Time to turn the page.

Another page gave tips on how to incorporate more exercise into your daily routine. A  problem that I have is the likeliness of implementing these suggestions while accomplishing your responsibilities for the day. The other problem I have with this article, and others I have seen over the years, is that it is geared specifically towards a person who works in an office. Just for fun I will rewrite part of the article, giving tips specifically for a teacher, short order cook, postal worker and child care provider.

A teacher can fit in bits of exercise by walking briskly up and down the aisles while clenching her buttocks. She can also have a power walking contest with her students on the way to bathroom and water fountain breaks.  When students misbehave, everyone  including the teacher will have to drop and do 20 sit-ups or push-ups.

A short order cook can do the grapevine at a brisk pace in between flipping burgers or chicken. They  can  play vegetable tag with the waitresses and prep staff during the down times of the day. In addition, they can  take out two bags of  garbage  at a time and lift it repetitively in the front shoulder and lateral raise  positions; two sets of twelve reps each.

A postal carrier can get more out of her day by lunging from one house to the next. She can also assume the squat position and do eight deep knee bends before lifting mail out of the push cart. For an extra cardio blast she can sprint up and down the stairs of homes.

A childcare provider can have fun on the job while exercising. Put on some music and dance around. The kids will laugh at you and so will your co-workers. Play toddler tag and hide and go seek. During nap time sit on the floor and stretch your lower body while trying to pat a preschooler to sleep.

I could not turn another page. It was  cliché,  disappointing and a waste of my time.

I know you are smart and interesting readers. Let’s hear your ideas on how to work in more exercise for your non-office jobs. I can’t wait to read them!

 

6 thoughts on “Why I Don’t Read These Magazines Anymore

  1. I love your tips. And bloggers can –
    – clench buttocks
    – grit teeth (and neck muscles)
    – push balls of feet against the floor (calf strengthening, I think)
    – raise entire lower body from chair with feet on floor (may need a chiropractor after that one.)

  2. A friend of mine just picked up a heart rate monitor at Costco – the kind you wear 24 hours a day and upload the info to the computer, etc. One day she did a hard spin class, burning over 500 calories, and then sat at her desk for the rest of the day. Another day she didn’t exercise, but spent the whole day running errands. She burned more calories doing the latter. So, the moral of the story is, become a professional errand runner! Oh wait, I think I already am.

  3. I subscribe to a couple of women’s fitness and health magazines. I’ve become less and less interested in magazines about beauty, fashion, or those that want to enlighten me with 100 different ways to please my man. Barf. I save all of my magazines and use them as a distraction when I’m on a cardio machine (the stair climber is my personal fave).

    When I worked in an office setting, many of my co-workers and I sat on large exercise balls at our desks to help engage the core muscles. We also had a company wide contest to encourage employees to walk more. We were each given a pedometer and were asked to track our total steps each day. This was a great and measurable way to track my daily activity. I made it my personal goal to walk at least 10,000 steps per day which is feasible for people in all types of work industries.

Comments are closed.